Birds

My heart could just about flutter out of my chest. Through the open windows, the musical twitter-chirp of birds foretell spring. Birds fly into town with spring tied to their ankles, pull the season behind them like a message in the sky.

I dreamt about my favorite sundress last night. It is tempting to pull my warm season clothes box out of the closet and store my winter clothes. But I fear a trick. Spring snowstorms are bitterest.  “Hope deferred makes the heart sick,” Proverbs tells us. Oh, how tangible and simple is Spring’s illustration of this concept.

Spring is decorated by dainty pink buds, tender green growth, sunshine… but it is also a season of battle between warm and cold. Wind whips and whistles. Spring snowstorms kill first growth. Hopes for warm weather are raised and dashed.

So it is with my walk with Jesus.  I observe the signs- the kindness of others, the beauty of art, stories of redemption, miracles (everyday and otherwise)… I know there is more to these days than survival. Beauty buds among the ashes, telling me my Redeemer lives. Though a fallen world threatens to kill in the battle between good and evil, the season of life is imminent. I expect heaven with guarded anticipation.

One thought on “Birds

  1. “Birds fly into town with spring tied to their ankles, pull the season behind them like a message in the sky” !!!!

    I LOVE the illustration of battle –spring and winter!

Leave a Reply

