The Elements of Style by Strunk and White

I would like to declare that I am a geek. I am reading a book on grammar and enjoying it. I read this book when someone suggested my grammar was less than perfect. I barely knew the person; his subsequent assertion that I may never make it as a writer hurt my feelings. He was right about the grammar, anyway.

That was a few years ago, so my feelings aren’t as wounded as then. They only hurt a little. Today, I read the chapters of Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style, and was inspired by both pristine grammar and by the artwork of Maira Kalman. I love her equal commitment to color and words.

20090130_kalman

2 thoughts on “The Elements of Style by Strunk and White

  1. That book is next on my list. I’ve used it for reference but not actually read it yet. I did read a good portion of Chicago Manual of Style last summer. Good stuff…highly recommended from a fellow geek!

Leave a Reply

