Weeds

IMG_1197 The lawn in front of our apartment house looks like everyone else’s around here. It’s mowed regularly, sure, but it grows like a weed. It’s covered in weeds. Dandelions, that is.

Common.

I stopped on my way to the mailbox one day, and heard, Hey, look at those yellow flowers. Lots of them. Why do you think I made them? A product of the Fall of Man? I guessed. Guess again.

Dandelions? God was talking to me about dandelions? So common. As I did my research, I felt like I was opening a treasure chest, buried right beneath my feet. I learned that the weed we spray and stomp and pick and chop, but can never seem to exterminate, is very nutritious. Read about it here and here.

I plucked its sunny yellow petals, about 1/2 a cup’s worth, and made muffins. And they were goooooooooooood!

Aren't they pretty?

Aren't they pretty?

Dandy Muffins

1/2 c all-purpose flour
1 1/2 c whole-wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c dandelion petals (just the petals! The leaves are too bitter for this recipe.)

1/4 c coconut oil
1/4 c honey
1 egg
1 1/2 c milk

Mix the dry ingredients. Mix the honey and oil first, then the remaining liquid ingredients, in a separate bowl. Combine dry and liquid ingredients- don’t overmix. Pour into greased muffin tin- fill cups halfway to make a pretty puffy muffin. Bake in an oven, preheated to 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Yields 10-12 muffins. Serve with butter.

So good, Steven snuck two at breakfast this morning!

So good, Steven snuck two at breakfast this morning!

So let that be a lesson to us. Keep your eyes open, and never overlook the commonplace. God, our Provider, may have packed some treasure into that which we consider a nuisance- in this case, an obstacle to a beautiful lawn!

Leave a Reply

