No distrust

From Romans 4…

20No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, 21fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. 22That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.” 23But the words “it was counted to him” were not written for his sake alone, 24but for ours also. It will be counted to us who believe in him who raised from the dead Jesus our Lord, 25 who was delivered up for our trespasses and raised for our justification.

My heart has been feasting on the story of Abraham and his growth in faith. He goes from lying about his relationship with his wife, Sarah, in order to protect himself, to offering his only son on the altar out of pure trust that God would be faithful. It was an imperfect journey, but a journey nonetheless.

There have been a couple of mornings, after an uncomfortable night’s sleep, that I got out of bed and noticed my tummy had grown. The previous nights, I felt things moving, paced around, ate a few crackers, and dreamed bizarre dreams when I did sleep. My night of frustration was replaced by my joy–Baby grew!

My faith of late, or lack thereof, has left me equally restless. There is uncomfortable stretching in areas I cannot believe will ever accommodate the faith God seems intent on growing in me. Yet, He promises to complete the work He began in me. Somehow, this miracle will stretch the walls of my previously weak faith. God will accomplish it.

In the meantime, I’m grateful for this little growing creature inside me, not just because I am already madly in love (I am), but for a tangible example on which to tether my growth in faith. How often we yearn for God with skin on, and He reveals Himself with such gentleness in every day, mundane or otherwise. What a beautiful picture of His character this pregnancy is showing me–His attention to detail, His patience with our invisible growth, His provision. God hears. He sees. He answers.

Leave a Reply

