Prayer teams for Sam

Our precious church has committed to send prayer teams to our home once a week to pray for Steven, Sam, and I. The first meeting was tonight, and a beautiful mama and her three babies (ages ranging from 5 to 10) and our friend came for the first meeting. I love how responsive children are to the voice of God, and I’ve shared before about how responsive Sam is already. These children’s prayers were such a treasure to me. They were like beautiful unkempt vines intertwining through the wise prayers of the adults.

Lord, may our home be a place where children are treated the way Jesus treats them–pulled into our laps and given our full attention and a place of honor.

Psalm 100 was laid on the eldest child’s heart to speak aloud for us, and everyone joined in like a choir to recite the Psalm.

1 Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.

2 Worship the LORD with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.

3 Know that the LORD is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.

5 For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

The mama was given Philippians 1:6 for Samuel, and laid her hands on my belly to speak it to him. My sweet baby boy, may these words echo every moment from heart, “I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will carry it to completion until the day of Jesus Christ.”

It is difficult for me to crack open my Bible, to pray more than a desperate sentence or two. But my heart sings to hear the words and prayers of others. My close friend told me, “Megan, we will hold your hands up for you,” like Aaron and Hur did for Moses. You pray in my stead, you tell me the truth when I am too weak to recall it. Thank you, Church. The battle is won.

4 thoughts on “Prayer teams for Sam

  1. Oh Megan,
    I don’t read your blog often, but when I do it blesses me so much. As the 3 of you make this journey you are teaching the rest of us about what true faith is. Please know that someone somewhere is always praying for the 3 CO. Moores.

    We love you all so very much.

  2. “I read Megan’s blog last night. Twice. Bawled the whole way through. Both times. I don’t even know what to say. It boggles the mind. This is special. She is special. God must be bursting with love for her. So thankful to have been let in on this even though the pain is searing. Praying…..”

    E-mail to me from my fried Mary. Although the circumstances are not the same, Mary and David walked through the pain and grief for baby Benson. When he was “knitted in the womb” his heart was not made to beat long in this world–only 20 days. Even after 8 years, his short life is still significant, made a difference, is remembered and counts. Know, without a doubt, that this is true of Samuel Moore.

    I’m so proud of you and Steven for knowing this already about Samuel. I know you have been told otherwise by those that should be your advocate because they are so smart in medical terms. Enjoy him in your womb–he is so alive with much significance–and for all the days God has numbered for him, and we are asking Him for many. “This is the promise which He himself made to us: Eternal Life.”!!!! I am in love with Sam, and I love you–Aunt Beverly

  3. Megan… This baby is such a blessing! I am soo sorry that you are experiencing this but you are such an encouragement! I had an easy pregnancy but I don’t know if I would have been able to handle all that you are facing. You are AMAZING!! I love your use of words and how you explain everything! You are doing a WONDERFUL thing and you are such a blessing and a great testimony of relying on GOd and not being angry at Him for what is going on! I know that there is probably a lot of anger but I know that God also has provided peace. You just have to ask for it! I am praying for you and Steven as well as little Sam… I know that you will have wonderful times with him no matter if it is a few minutes or days or years… God will bless that time and you will be blessed by that time! THank you soo much for your words and your strength even when you may feel that you are soo weak… God is the great healer and I am will continue to pray that your baby will be healed!!

Leave a Reply

