Thin Line

This tightrope I walk, between hope and reality

is cutting my feet in half and might slice me up to my knees or hips

or belly

I fear.

The promise of a nursery darkened by the possibility

or is it reality

of death. Empty crib. Empty carseat. Empty arms. Empty belly.

Empty hope?

No.

Tomorrow I will buy you a bassinet, if I’m strong enough.

Knowing that it will be filled when you are born.

Maybe with tears.

Maybe with you.

I think it will be with you. I hope it will be with you.

Better the tears fall in your hopeful bassinet than on the floor.

Better I think of you alive. Better I hope.

Better a beating hopeful heart to receive you.

Or my heart will shrivel up in safety and forsake your story.

5 thoughts on “Thin Line

  1. “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

    Continue to hope as you walk by faith…

    praying for you sister.

    Emily

  2. We love you guys and are so proud to know you. Continue to let God be your shield. He’ll bestow glory on you and be the lifter of your head. Ps 3:3
    You are very wise to protect yourselves from opinions. “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Pr 4:23

    Love and Hope and Peace from us, Tamara and Aaron

  3. Ecc. 11:4-6

    Farmers who wait for perfect weather never plant.
    If they watch every cloud, they never harvest.

    Just as you cannot understand the path of the wind or the mystery of a tiny baby growing in its mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the activity of God, who does all things.

    Plant your seed in the morning and keep busy all afternoon, for you don’t know if profit will come from one activity or another—or maybe both.

    HOPE and prepare your field! Praying for Sam everyday — I don’t know him but I love him.

Leave a Reply

