Psalm 91

1 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare
and from the deadly pestilence.

4 He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

Praise to the God whose goodness is not my goodness. Holy holy holy is He. He will cover me with His feathers, and under His wings alone will I find refuge. His faithfulness will be my shield and defense. I will dwell there in His shelter. The sorrow of His presence is greater than the happiness of the world. His nearness is my good.

An entry from my art journal

3 thoughts on “Psalm 91

  1. Bless you dear friend. How grateful I am for these words…a covering of feathers, a refuge. They are comforting me today. They bring tears, which I’ve needed let flow. I’ve often read this Psalm to my father. It is his favorite. He would read this Psalm, while in a foxhole after being shot down in WWII and crash landed his plane between the Russian and German lines. He had a New Testament with the Psalms in his pocket. He’d been shot in the leg by the Germans while running to divert the enemy fire from his crew. His life was sustained by reading this Psalm. I read it to him every time we visit. So from both my father and me,as we are grieving the death of my brother, his son, thank you. We will take our refuge under His wings…they are more than enough for all we need for today and for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

