Calzones

Pineapple-chicken-cilantro calzone. Photograph did not turn out great at all, but it tasted so good... my mouth is watering as I write the caption!

Thursday night, Steven is in class, so I pine away for him and cook and bake. I found a recipe for roasted veggie calzones, and tried it out. I also made chicken calzones with barbecue sauce, pineapple chunks, cilantro, and cheddar cheese. I made sure to add extra crushed garlic to both recipes, which is oh-so-aromatic–my favorite part of the evening is when he opens the front door at almost bedtime, says, “Hey babe, it smells like heeeeaven in here!” and puts on his proverbial bib to chow down.

While one could definitely use store-bought pizza dough and pizza sauce and feel no shame, I like me some homemade goodness. If you have the time and desire, I am sharing my recipes. Both are easily made ahead and frozen. The pizza dough needs to be brought to room temperature before kneading and rolling out.

I found yet another reason to love my food processor. I had great success using it to prepare this dough:

Pizza dough

1 1/2 c warm water
2 T honey
1 1/2 t salt
3 t yeast
1/4 c wheat germ
2 c wheat flour
All-purpose flour

Pulse the water, sugar, and salt in the food processor for a few seconds. Then, add yeast and pulse for a few more seconds. Allow yeast to bloom. Add wheat germ and wheat flour; pulse till mixed. Then turn the processor on high and, while it’s running, slowly add as much all-purpose flour as needed to cause the dough to ball up. Knead on a floured surface for a couple of minutes, cover, and allow to rise for 45 minutes. Punch down, allow to rise again. This yields enough dough for eight calzones, 4 personal pizzas, or 2 regular-sized pizzas. Yum.

Pizza sauce

15 oz. tomato sauce
6 oz. tomato paste
1 T sugar
1 t basil
1 t garlic powder
1/2 oregano
salt to taste

Combine ingredients in a sauce pan. Simmer for five minutes.

Because of the protein in the wheat germ in the dough and all the cheese, the veggie calzones could easily be a stand-alone meal maybe served with basil yogurt or buttermilk ranch for dipping. And the chicken calzones… well, hallelujah, they were tasty.

Am I allowed to say “hallelujah” about my own recipes? Oh dear.

One thought on “Calzones

Leave a Reply

