Almost one year

Today marks 11 months since first baby was born. In one month, I will celebrate his birthday. There will be tears, because I ache to hold him in my arms, but I will also celebrate. He was such a special person. My life will never be the same.

I think, like many mothers who have lost babies, I fear that the world will forget my little boy. Yet I think that maybe you do remember, even apart from my reminding you on this blog. It’s so hard to know how to show someone that you remember. I know. So I want to tell you how to enter into the Valley in a very small way for me, as the anniversary of Sam’s passing and his birthday are coming. If he had lived, I would have sent out invitations for his first birthday party. But that was not the unique plan for his life, and he is not here with me today. I still think he is worth celebrating though! So I ask you to help me celebrate my sweet boy in this way.

Would you write his name?

Sam has a name gallery in his About page. Many other mothers who walk this journey of grief with me have written his name and taken pictures for me. Would you do that too, between now and February 18? Write his name in pencil on a piece of notebook paper. Spell out his name with fridge magnets. Write his name with rocks or modeling clay or with an etch-a-sketch. Take a picture of his name on a street sign or in sidewalk chalk on the driveway. When you do that, and I see the picture you email me, I will hear, “I remember him too,” and that will be so good for my heart.

6 thoughts on “Almost one year

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head Megan. It is hard (for me at least) to show you and Steven that I do remember. Every day. I have been brainstorming where and how to write his name. Love you!

  2. Megan,
    I am passing the Stylish Blogger award on to you. You have been so kind to me. I love reading your words. They are so honest and from the heart. I will work on a picture for Sam’s birthday.
    Stacey

  3. Megan…I too remember your son, Sam as I knit because I had a hat that I did for him but didn’t send it because than I got news that Sam was born. So hopefully I won’t chicken out and be able to send something for your Junebug.

    • Awww, thank you. Don’t chicken out even about sending the hat for Sam. I have a box of things people sent for Sam that I cherish. Some of those things will stay in his memory box, and some will get used for his little sibling. I have some bath squirty toys that Emily from camp sent for Sam that I’m keeping out for Junebug. Lots of other random things.

      Anyway, thanks for remembering with me. 🙂

  4. Megan-I think of you guys often, and remember Sam with you. I will be sending a pic once I think of a special way to honor him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

