This time last week…

This time last week, these were not on my coffee table, a gift from my mother for doing something amazing.

Peonies. Lovely.

I was 38 weeks pregnant, and starting to go into labor. Slowly, gently, peacefully my little Babybug was making his way into the world. Steven and I went for a hike this time last week.

Steven and I enjoying the scenery and each other on the trail to Mt. Cutler.

No, I didn’t make it all the way to the top. I was nine months pregnant! Are you kidding???

I looked down, and had to laugh. My shadow looked like it was about to pop.

This time last week, this hadn’t happened yet…

My dream come true. Bringing Baby home.

But then, on Friday, June 10, 2011, my second son, Ezra Tobias Moore, entered into the world screaming and alert. He weighed 8 lbs. 10 oz., was about 21 inches long, and brought such healing and joy into our lives. Though our arms will be empty of his brother until we reach Heaven, our arms are so full of Ezra. Hallelujah!

I wept and laughed as he was born. This is Ezra, minutes old.

Sleep-deprived but overjoyed. I cannot help but smile every time I see my little Ezra's face. He is such a delight!

They sang, praising and giving thanks to the LORD saying, “For He is good, for His lovingkindness is upon Israel forever.” And all the people shouted with a great shout when they raised the LORD because the foundation of the house of the LORD was laid. Yet many of the priests and Levites and heads of fathers’ households, the old men who had seen the first temple, wept with a loud voice when the foundation of this house was laid before their eyes, while many shouted aloud for joy, so that the people could not distinguish the sound of joy from the sound of the weeping of the people, for the people shouted with a loud shout, and the sound was heard far away. Ezra 3:11-13

16 thoughts on “This time last week…

  1. I am so thrilled beyond words for you! I count this joy as high as the birth of my nieces and nephews (which is pert near as high as the birth of my own girls.) Congratulations! Praying for an easy recovery, smooth transition, and unexplainable wisdom as you figure out life with your son!

  2. Oh Megan, the picture of you by your house holding Ezra — the smile, the depth, the life I see in you (and in your arms) — my shoes are off, it is holy. And holiness always has a deeper story, doesn’t it?!

    With love and great thanksgiving to our God!
    Sallie

  3. I’m so happy for you guys. I’m sure that having Ezra here makes you miss Sam and all these firsts that you could’ve/should’ve had with him, but I pray that you continue to find joy in this new chapter of y’all’s lives. So exciting. He’s absolutely beautiful! Have fun adjusting to having a little one in the home. 🙂

  4. Congratulations, Megan! So happy to hear the news of Ezra’s arrival. Jen was with me when you posted this and we got to celebrate your news together. So, so happy for you!!!

  5. I missed this post and saw your previous pg pics post! CONGRATULATIONS!!! He’s AMAZING and BEATIFUL! Praising the Lord with you in this amazing blessing and gift. 🙂

  6. I loved his name from the moment I read it, but the Scripture reference? THAT is God-breathed and perfect for this miracle in your life.

Leave a Reply

